Newborn Session… WHAT?!

b2daf3e1670f7af162427baa937e2d51So about a month ago, I had taken maternity photos for Natasha and Cory… well I’m happy to say that little Haley has been born and is ready to have her photos done. I have never done newborn photography. I’m actually probably deathly afraid of doing this photo session, only because I’ve never really dealt with babies.

I mean I see them… I make funny faces and noises… but to handle them. Yikes. lol.

That ——–>

… is pretty accurate.

So needless to say, I’ve been trying to do as much research as I possibly could to figure out what I need to do to physically prepare and to emotionally prepare.

I see this as a nice learning experience. And a nice way to test my patience.

So once I got over the initial shock of the possibility of me getting pee’d or poo’d on… I got really excited. I’ve always wanted to add one more thing to my experience and what better way than with someone whom I know.

Now that I’m pumped, I wanted to go shopping to see if there was any props that I could find. One of the things that I had been eyeing was a newborn posing beanbag. Yeah I don’t have $85 to spend on a bean bag that doesn’t even come with the filler. Needless to say, I was on the search for a bean bag chair that I didn’t think anyone still made or sold. But luckily Wal-Mart still sells them. So I picked on up for $15! I call that a fantastic steal and am hoping that it works for me.

And now that “winter” shopping is technically over… it was really hard to find some cute blankets for background use and to drape over the bean bag. I did find a purple and white fleece blanket at Wal-Mart, then I headed over Ross and found one of the most adorable soft yarn blankets for $9.99! Can I just say that I love shopping for props?! Not only did I find that blanket, I also found a really unique plastic fruit bowl that would definitely hold a newborn in it. Then I found a pretty sweet basket, OH and a lavender looking mat that was just too adorable to pass up.

Oh it didn’t just stop at Ross, I had been trying to find just a plain white blanket and found something somewhat similar at Family Dollar and a gray rustic basket as well. Then I was looking around and found some amazingly soft bath mats that would be perfect because of texture. Anything works right?

All the things that I bought, came up to the $85 that I would have spent on that one posing bean bag. I’m just saying… I’m going to make everything work for less. How else do you work your way up from the bottom?

I might have gone just a tad bit over board. However, I have a nice amount of items to choose from, that is what matters. Especially since I’ve never done this before. And if someone else decides to hire me to do more newborn photos, I think I’ll be ready. I think I really want to pursue this whole area of photography. Lifestyle photography… newborn photography… for once I think that I know what I want to get into! Which is weird because I would have never thought of this as an area that I would want to get into. But the more I think about it… the more I really do want to go into this field.

I’ll just have to keep a level head and not get over anxious. Apparently babies are like animals… they can smell fear. lol. So wish me luck today! I will post some sneak peaks tomorrow from our session, so keep an eye out on that! 😀

18505_10151408962248805_265320649_n

Leave a Reply

